A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

The day we celebrate love. As a Buddhist, I try not to attach anything to days like Valentine’s Day. However I also live in the world, and in this world our special ladies like to hear us say how much they mean to us. Regardless, how much we say and do it the other 364 days, today she will be looking to see if we have done or said something special.

So do you race out, and buy a card, or do you make one? For me it’s surprising her, with breakfast in bed, and the shower set to her favorite temperature, with a bottle of her favorite natural soap she really likes but won’t splurge on for herself. Then sending her a dozen roses, however not a dozen red roses. Rather the bouquet starts with yellow roses, to show her the joy and delight I feel by having a true friend like her in my life. Two shades of pink roses, dark pink, to show appreciation and gratitude for all that she brings to my life, and light pink to acknowledge the grace and elegance that she adds to my life. A single white rose to say I appreciate the purity she brings into our love. An orange rose to bridge the gap between her being my best friend and my lover. A lavender rose, which represents royalty, and lets her know she is my queen. Then finally the red roses, with one having a longer stem than all the others. Having her receive this at work, will bring a smile to her face, which she will wear all day. It’s won’t be because she got something at work, but that I honor her gift of walking hand in hand with me through life. So if I ever forget to say I love you, one day, she will know that she will always be in my heart, even if I haven’t said the words.

 

Today’s Daily Prompt

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

  1. Great idea…here’s the short link to the Little Bird’s Dad sketch for today (others can feel free to attach it to an email and share it with their loved one, for free).

    Sadly, no bonus points, I’m not a poet.

    Blowing up Valentine’s Day

    Peace,
    LBD

  2. Lucky lady! What a romantic you are. Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Cupid’s Arrow – Poem / Poetry – “Feasting on Feral Feelings” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: UNENDING LOVE « hastywords

  5. Dang! Way to raise the bar for the rest of us…

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow … in the Southern Sky it flew yesterday!s | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. What a wonderful thing to do. I don’t follow Valentine’s Day, so my hubbie is off the hook on that matter. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – 14 Words For Love – The Definitive Collection | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

Gabriel Lucatero

The Official Website

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dishing It Out With Clarissa

Sharing stories, tips, life hacks, killer dishes I love to eat and more. Oh did i meantion FOOD!!

A happy organic vegan 🌱 journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and UX Designer based in Plymouth, Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

Beth Shekinah

Shaman & Holistic Transformation Facilitator

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

Tattoos by Spencer - Thailand

Tattoo Artist and Ajarn of Sak Yant , Vipassana Meditation, Thai Buddhist Amulet distribution

Dr Bill Wooten

A focus on issues of living a positive life

Travel Moments

Adventure and Asian Travel