A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Apply Yourself

Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you.

I lead an active lifestyle, try to eat healthy vegetarian food, get regular rest, and have been able to adopt and learn as I go. However, I am horrible as a gym partner. I can find ten thousand things to do, other than go to the gym. Over the years I have joined private gyms, and city recreation facilities with a monthly pass. However after the first visit or two, I suddenly decide my bike needs a tune up, so I take it out to see what needs adjustment, or go buy a new pair of running shoes. It’s not that I don’t stay active, in Vancouver one of my favorite pastimes was to walk the seawall, starting at Science World, then along English Bay, around Stanley Park, then back past the Convention Centre to Crab Park, along Main Street to Chinatown, and stop at one of the local restaurants for a well deserved meal, without the preparation or clean up. In Edmonton I used to hike through the North Saskatchewan River Valley, from Downtown to Rundle Park then Back along the other side of the river to downtown. These trails allow you to forget you’re in a city. Go cycling to get my groceries, I’m there with basket attached.

However there’s the dark side to my fitness story. Every year about this time I decide I need to get into a gym, and work on that spare tire, tighten up the sagging chest muscles that have slipped to expand my waistline. Tighten up the glutes and abs, and perhaps finally get those bulging pectorals my genetics have so far denied me. I have done this solo, with a workout buddy, but the result is always the same, within a month, I am back to my normal non-gym-rat lifestyle. So being a regular gym user has and is a struggle for me, even though it would allow me to target a few deficiencies in my workouts, as in too much aerobic/cardio and not enough strength training.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/19/daily-prompt-apply-yourself/

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Apply Yourself

  1. I think your way to be active sounds so much more fun than gym. Hiking and treating yourself with a nice meal after it. But of course this comes from non-gymmer too :D. I’m done beating myself up about it. What about gym alternatives like swimming?!

    • I don’t beat myself up over not going to the gym, sounds like they type of excercise I avoid 🙂
      Swimming is something I mainly do in the summer, but if theres a wave pool around I might be tempted.

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dishing It Out With Clarissa

Sharing stories, tips, life hacks, killer dishes I love to eat and more. Oh did i meantion FOOD!!

A happy organic vegetarian journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and UX Designer based in Plymouth, Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

