A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

What’s the one thing you hope other people never say about you?

This is today’s topic from the daily prompt at WordPress.

It caused me to think and I came up with a wide range of things I hoped I wouldn’t hear about myself, especially from friends or those who know me. But then I started to think that is only a small percentage of those I encounter everyday, shouldn’t this topic mean everyone. Or is it acceptable to select which critics we listen to, ignoring the voices from the forest around us, selecting fruit from our favorite trees.

So lets explore a few of the topics that quickly came to my mind. I will leave the one I settled on till the end.

Selfish was one of the first labels that came to mind as “I hope I never hear I am (label). Thinking of this I realized although I thought about it, I tend to be one who shares what I have, within reasonable limits. I won’t do knowingly give something to someone if it could allow them to harm themselves. I have used the example of not giving money to a beggar, instead buying them food from a street vendor, or giving a can of V8 juice.

Gossiper was another that came to mind, and quickly was left as not applicable. When I was younger I used to engage in this behavior, which afflicts many of us from time to time. However the more I have come to accept myself, flaws and all, the more tolerant I have become of others. I tend to change the topic if someone starts gossiping, thus giving the message I’m not interested without giving the person a rebuke.

Fibber or liar, which once again would barely be applicable. I used to use little white lies, such as when a lady asked if a dress made her look unattractive, and seeing her facial expression that she really hoped I liked it. Today I would say something about how another outfit I have seen her in accentuates her qualities much more, or if pressed say I am not an advocate of the outfit in question. Hence I probably won’t be dragged off shopping anytime soon.

Superiority complex was the one I settled on as what I wouldn’t want to hear about myself. It denotes holding myself above others, judging myself and others, and making unnecessary distinctions between beings. It doesn’t matter how we try to justify considering ourselves as better than others, richer, smarter, looks, athletic ability or any other standard, they are all temporary. Think back to the people who said man would never break the four minute mile, and when it finally happened, that it would never be further reduced.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Four-minute_mile

How about superiority in wealth, while being called a millionaire isn’t quite what it used to be. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millionaire

We all are born into this life with the same as every other living being. We live our lives trying to be happy and avoid suffering in all its forms. When we die we ll leave behind the physical form we called ours, and we don’t take any of our possessions with us into the next life. So how can we feel a sense of superiority over anyone. So that is why I hope I never hear that I suffer from a superiority complex, for it would be much ado about nothing meaningful.

I would love to hear what you think your answer would be. By the way there is no right answer.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/daily-prompt/

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “What’s the one thing you hope other people never say about you?

  1. hmmm I suppose I wouldn’t want anyone to say that I lack integrity

  2. Great post Keith. For me: Cruel. Mean. Lack integrity. Selfish

  3. I’m a therapist and I do not like it when people bandy about mental health diagnoses about other people. It is a misuse, mean spirited and inaccurate. It’s just a slightly more sophisticated form of name calling.
    You, know what I like?
    Kindness.
    Even online.
    For the first time I saw someone be mean spirited and bullying towards another blogger yesterday. I didn’t say anything.
    It’s remarkable how kind most wp bloggers are!
    Like you.

  4. hmm, I guess selfish, unkind. yeah and also integrity. great post!

  5. Very interesting post.

  6. great post…I wouldn’t like to be called insensitive!

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Wrap It Up « A Western Buddhist's Travels

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dishing It Out With Clarissa

Sharing stories, tips, life hacks, killer dishes I love to eat and more. Oh did i meantion FOOD!!

A happy organic vegetarian journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and UX Designer based in Plymouth, Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

