A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Growing your readership, the WordPress way

Have you ever wondered if the challenges like The Weekly Photo bring more readership to your blog, or are these higher numbers just surfing for the photos?

Over the last several weeks I have been watching the numbers on my blog. Fridays are my best day since I started including the Weekly Photo as part of my blogging routine. So answering the question, has it added any readership to what I write about, and I can say definitely it has. I started doing the weekly photo challenge, when my blog had 27 followers two months ago. Today as I write this I have 106, so almost 400% growth over this period. I am not including Twitter and Facebook to avoid counting people twice. Yes when starting with a small base of readers the numbers look astronomical. However with over 2.5 billion page views per month, and growing, there is enough room for all of us to grow.

However this growth in readers has resulted in a view growth that far exceeds the views of only my photos. I have gained over 2000 individual page views, and if I subtract the page views of my photos, I have a net gain of over 1225 of other pages. Also some of my most engaged readers, who comment and click like are ones who first discovered my blog from the Weekly Photo Challenge. As I write this one of my newest followers arrived at my blog from today’s Photo for silhouette, and has clicked like on my earlier post today.

Also the benefit has been to find some blogs that I enjoy following every day. Some of these are not ones I would have looked for, however I am glad I found. I wouldn’t have thought the writings of a twenty something would appeal to me, as to borrow a saying been there, done that, and it was a few decades ago. Yet I have a few I follow that have shown me, they have the same concerns about the world as someone my age, and perhaps a few newer ideas to solve them. Another benefit is I have found a few great food blogs, some about foods I enjoy, some for ones I never really looked at before. I may have to add exercise to blogs I look for though.

So as only 19 writers will be Freshly Pressed this week, the weekly challenges are something we can all do to bring potential followers to our blogs. So as of next week I will be adding the post-a-day challenge to my list of things to do, and invite all of you to join me, and all the others already doing these.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Growing your readership, the WordPress way

  1. How do you get people to actually click on your articles? I have likes on my articles, but no stats at all. Is it wise to disable the reader, or should I keep it?
    I’ve had other blogs, and I know I just started but I’m having difficulty on getting people to take a look at my blog, any suggestions?

  2. “I have a few I follow that have shown me, they have the same concerns about the world as someone my age, and perhaps a few newer ideas to solve them…” – good luck with blog posts not on Friday!

  3. I also think the challenges can be a nice way to introduce ourselves to each other, as we may be more likely to “browse” others’ responses to the same challenge, and then sometimes further check out their blogs while we are there. The diversity yet commonality of interests out in the big blogosphere is amazing and wonderful. ~ Kat

    • I wholeheartedly agree, and that one point of connection might introduce us to someone who we would otherwise never encounter. The more we share with each other, the more we realize we have more in common than in where we disagree.

  4. Pingback: Using SEO for beginners « A Western Buddhist's Travels

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

The Neighborhood

society online creative conscious

Gabriel Lucatero

Fiction Writer, Illegal Immigrant

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

​ The incredible and simple world of flavors and cooking at your finger tips.

A happy organic vegetarian journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE Photography

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and UX Designer based in Plymouth, Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

