A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Simple things are the source of happiness

I have found that I am happiest not when I seek to obtain happiness. Rather it is when my heart finds a chance to appreciate all the people in my life, to encourage someone, even if it is only with a smile, also when I have a chance to console someone, and lighten their burden of suffering. These are the moments that seem to resonate with me. When I have accomplished something, it has been the joy in others I remember most, the happiness in my parents eyes, such as the first time I rode my bike without their help. At graduations my mom’s smile was brighter then the sun to my eyes, and my dad was quietly smiling in a way he had that seemed it infused his whole being. At the times when they were both ill and soon to leave this life, neither talked about their illness, rather it was about the moments of joy they had throughout their lives. I only recently realized that this is why, I as a few lady friends have told me, I am too picky about potential partners in my life. I don’t see it as picky, rather I have found happiness when I find a lady who is strong enough to live her life, yet as I wants someone to share each other’s joys. Who doesn’t look for someone to put a smile on her face, rather finds ways for us to share each other’s smiles. One who knows she is not perfect and doesn’t expect it from me. A lady who when I do something wrong, or inapprorpriate will tell me so, then not hold it against me. There is an old saying; Men choose a lady based on what they see, while women choose a male based on what they hear. This is why women wear makeup and men will tell her only what she wants to hear. I thank my parents in that while the initial glance may have caught my, eye, I look for the beauty from within her. The more beautiful I find her inside, the more beauty I see when I gaze upon her. Also my father made sure I understood looking the best he could when he took mom out for an evening wasn’t about him, it was allowing her to feel proud of having him do it for her. Mom would look her best on these nights, so dad could honestly say he had the best looking lady on his arm. Neither was doing it for themselves, rather trying to make the other proud, yet they both had grins, I at times when younger thought they looked rather silly. With the wisdom years provide, I now not only understand, but would consider myself blessed to have such a lady beside me for the rest of my journey. Some say this makes me a romantic, to me being in a relationship should bring out the romantic in a person, for it means you put the others pleasure and happiness as equal to or more important than your own. My parents both did this to each other and were amongst the happiest married couples I have ever seen, so is it any wonder I should aspire to this. My parents thought me that to be born in this life of ten thousand woes and ten thousand joys, was a blessing. That if we prepare our minds and hearts to be ready to respond with loving kindness and compassion as our first response, that the ten thousand woes would become the source of ten thousand joys. I mention this as I have met a lady, who seems to have these qualities, as she is more and more often, in my thoughts. I don’t know where it may lead, but she is a rare beauty, both inside as well as outer appearance.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Gabriel Lucatero

The Journal of an Illegal Immigrant

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

​ The incredible and simple world of flavors and cooking at your finger tips.

A happy organic vegetarian journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE Photography

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

