A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Celebrating 2 Christmases & 3 New Years

Growing up as a first generation Canadian had its advantages. I still was exposed to the cultural and religious beliefs from my parent’s cultures. I had all the modern conveniences which I would not have had, had I been born in China or the Ukraine. My parents encouraged me to explore my world. To look beyond what we see with our eyes. I was given a chemistry set, a microscope, an electronics kit, even a basic computer kit, which didn’t do more than light bulbs, but it was intriguing. I also had pets growing up, which helped teach me responsibility for other sentient beings, from tropical fish, to a hamster, to a German Sheppard who was happiest when we were out exploring the neighbourhood. My mother and father ensured I learned to read, and developed a passion for it while young, with my own well used library card. I was the envy of most of my friends, with 2 Christmases, and 3 New Years, every year. The Christmases were different. The December 25th was one we traveled for family get-togethers, as it was a legal holiday. The Ukrainian Christmas was a traditional meatless dinner and, when I was able to open most of my presents. December 31st I was able to stay up to see the New Year arrive. Ukrainian New Year’s Eve was a reflection on the past year, and a time to plan for the upcoming one. Chinese New Year’s Eve was a night that started, with going to the Lychee Gardens for supper with some of my Chinese cousins, aunts and uncles. Then it was off to one of our houses where us kids played, while the adults talked. I mention all this because, I was talking with a friend, and we were talking about families with 2 or more cultural backgrounds, and which ones to follow. My parents raised me to respect not only my family’s cultural values, but those of our neighbours as well. There was never judgement in their attitude as to which was best or correct. My dad used to repeat the old saying “When in Rome, do as the Romans”. Yet my parents still lived according to their values, within the external world. I know realize that they allowed me to experience all of them, and decide which ones to follow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dishing It Out With Clarissa

Sharing stories, tips, life hacks, killer dishes I love to eat and more. Oh did i meantion FOOD!!

A happy organic vegetarian journey

Happiness. Healthy. Loving-Kindness.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

A Metaphysical Journey

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Schelley Cassidy Photography

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and UX Designer based in Plymouth, Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

rashmidevi.wordpress.com/

Metta Bhav Yoga & Thai Massage

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

