A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Midlife crisis or long overdue change? (Warning graphic image)

Yesterday I wrote I finally went to the gym, to start preparing to run either a 5km or a 10km run later this spring. The good news, I survived and even had some helpful tips from one of the staff at the YMCA. The bad news I’m not in as good shape as I thought I was. I have incorporated walking and cycling into my daily life, however I need to do more, if I want to be healthier.

035_opt

So the above picture shows me on the treadmill. I  aimed to keep my target heart rate in the 125 -135 bracket for 30 minutes for the first week. Yes this is lower than the maximum recommended on the page I linked to, however I wanted to make the full half hour, and not fly off the back of the treadmill on my first day. Knowing the heart rate zones for your age is important, so the first few days, I’m watching it more closely than I will once I get into the routine.

The starting stats:

Weight  93 kg

30 minutes average heart rate 132 beats per minute

average speed 4.2km/h

calories burned 227

So yes I have a ways to go, but I knew that going into this. I will post each Saturday, starting February 23, about my misadventures and successes. Also I challenge all you other couch potatoes, office chair pilots, and remote control operators to join me in getting back into shape.

As The Buddha taught “We  are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy  follows like a shadow that never leaves.”

So live in the present, don’t plan to exercise in a tomorrow that never comes. It’s fitting that I am posting this on Valentine’s Day, for what better gift can you give the loves of your life, than a healthy you?

“By ourselves is evil done, By ourselves we pain endure, By ourselves we cease from wrong, By ourselves become we pure.

No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path: Buddhas only show the way.” from the Dhammapada.

The Buddha is giving advice on our minds, however it can also apply to the actions we take with our bodies. We think about getting in shape, we talk with our friends and loved ones about getting into shape, however we need also do it.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Midlife crisis or long overdue change? (Warning graphic image)

  1. Wonderful steps in the right direction!

  2. Good for you! Best of luck.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Proud « A Western Buddhist's Travels

  4. Good work on getting to the gym and recognizing where you’re at in terms of health! It’s excellent you’re trying. I’m more in the cluster of couch potatoes, arm chair pilots and remote control operators! ;) You are inspiring :)

  5. Pingback: Mid-life Crisis or Needed change part 2 | A Western Buddhist's Travels

  6. Pingback: Midlife crisis or long overdue change? Week 3 | A Western Buddhist's Travels

Leave a Reply

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

benbrilliant

Just another WordPress.com site

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav

Jeanette Sealy Yoga

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

