A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

For me the phone falls in the middle, it\s a lifeline sometimes, it could be a buzzing nuisance at others, and sometimes it’s a pleasure to talk with the person on the other end of the call. Notice I don’t say the other end of the line, as even though I’m in my 50s, I haven’t had a home phone now for a few years. I helped pioneer the idea of having my cell phone, as my home phone, and I thank Fido for the willingness to pioneer the concept back when they introduced their unlimited local plan, fittingly called City Fido. So I had to learn how to manage my phone, as it’s a tool, it can’t be allowed to become the master. Just as fire is a useful tool, to keep us war, cook our food, and even dry us out, let it out of control and it can be a destroyer of lives.

So how do I keep my wireless pone on a short leash? I developed a small set of rules I use to give myself quiet time.

1. I use different ringtones for work, friends, family and all the other calls. Regardless of how I feel about work, I never use part of the country and western song written by Davis Allen Cole and sung by Johnny Paycheck. Somehow I don’t think hearing “Take this Job & Shove it” will endear you to your boss, or co-workers.

2. If you are spending quality time with your significant other, show them they really are the most important person n the world, and turn the phone to mute for those few hours. Guys trust me, the lady in your life will be appreciative, and ladies the guys are too. Nothing ruins a romantic moment faster than, having the phone ring, and a 20 minute conversation about something that could have waited.

3. In places such as restaurants, and theatres I use the no ring/vibrate option, and if it’s a call I have to take I walk out to the lobby. I have seen someone wear a large pop for yakking in the theatre. I personally wouldn’t do that, after all have you seen what they want for the soft drinks in theatres these days?

4. On holidays I use a VoIP app, which only a few people have the number to, thus eliminating most calls that would intrude on my relaxation. Considering that my relation might be a beach, bike tour, skiing, or camping, I don’t want to hear about that new project till I am back to work.

So yes, I still get those annoying calls, offering me a great deal on something I have no interest in purchasing, but they last less than a minute, and never intrude on important things. But the phone doesn’t run my schedule, it plays by my rules, so it is very seldom an annoyance.

 

 

Today’s Daily Prompt

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe | My.Vivid.Visions

  2. Pingback: “CON”versations With My Phone « So You Think You Can Think

  3. I really like how you have managed to segregate your personal and public phone lives :) Usually people let those two overlap and then end up hating their phones, like me! :) Nice article :)

  4. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  5. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe « From the C-Sweet

  8. Pingback: Call Me Maybe, Call Me Surely, Just Don’t Call Me Late For Dinner « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings

  9. I turned my ringer off!!! I don’t ever answer direct calls unless I REALLY want to talk with you!!! I don’t have a cell phone either… well one in the car it’s a track phone for emergencies! I’m SO HIGH TEC LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations. Because Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

benbrilliant

Just another WordPress.com site

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav Yoga and Thai Massage

Practices for Health & Happiness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

