A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: I Got Skills

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

To borrow a line from Donald Trump‘s Book “The Art of the Deal” I wish I had become a better negotiator. I think my parents had something to do with this lack of skill, but then again it probably was my fault.

My mother used to tell me how I would bargain with her when I was younger, giving up one of my nightly cookies to stay up an extra 15 minutes, then giving up the other one for an additional 15 minutes of staying up late. She said this worked, untill she noticed I was saving my dessert from supper as my late night snack. So she said after that, the standard answer was no, regardless what I proposed, the only way I got what I wanted, was when the offer I made was one so weighted against myself that they let me have it, so to speak. Donald Trump talks about honesty, respect and determination, as the basis for winning deals, which I agree with. Also they say the best deals are ones where both sides can claim victory, or at least suffer the same defeat. So that is the one skill I wish I was a master of.

What would I do with this skill? Convince companies to put the consumer of their products, and the environment ahead of profits. What a healthy world we would live in, if companies voluntarily minimized the disruption of the earth, used the least amount of resources, and cleaned up after themselves. Yes there are companies that do follow ethical polices, but they stand out like green thumbs, among a hand of hammer bashed fingers. Of course this would need making a deal with the shareholders of these companies to accept a lower return for their investment.

Get governments to tax us fairly, while using those revenues to provide services, and enforce regulations, instead of looking after their re-election chances. Have you ever noticed that democratic Governments make over half their offers to do things during the last quarter of their term, because they want to be re-elected. Think I’m wrong, go through your local newspapers for the last few years, and track announcements month by month.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/daily-prompt-skills/

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: I Got Skills

  1. good question and I like your choice! What would I pick? The clear ability to see and convey the perspectives of others and build community

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations. Because Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

The Autobiography, Chronicles of The Santa Barbara Diner and Other Stories

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav Yoga and Thai Massage

Practices for Health & Happiness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

