A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

When I was sixteen my life was a blur. I was going in several directions at one time, and my parents were trying to be supportive, yet I know I had them baffled.

School I was doing the academic track, taking all three sciences, the University track for math, learning French. I was on the debate team, worked in the school bookstore at lunch time. Also that was the year I took drama, and played a few minor parts in Fiddler on the roof. Needless to say to my parents this was like a shotgun approach, or as my mother said a buffet of courses with no entrée. I also have to admit I didn’t apply myself much that year even though, I go fairly good marks. I remember one example of this, we had a social studies assignment given out in September, that was due in January. We had to do it as part of a group of three, with at least one being of the opposite sex. Our group was quickly formed, we discussed it that day, worked out the topic, the approach, and the framework. Yes we were that organized, however we filed the project in the to do basket, and in January, when we were reminded on a Friday, that the paper was due on Monday and accounted for 25% of our mark, we decided it was time to get to work. We diligently worked all weekend, and we turned in our paper on Monday morning, just as the class was ending. We had just finished typing it out, and made the deadline. Oh, sorry I forgot to mention 5% penalty per day late, so turning it in two days late meant you were not getting higher than 90% for a perfect paper. We got an 87% on it, so mission accomplished.

I also played two sports that year, and involved in the drama club, and was on the debate team, which involved weekend trips to other cities or towns for tournaments. I was also working part-time, at a department store selling cameras and other assorted small electronics. Add on being involved in Air Cadets, and you may begin to realize my parents joked they had a ghost in the house. One that emptied the fridge out on a regular basis, and left a neat pile of laundry in the bedroom.

So now that you have some background, you will understand when I say at sixteen, what I wanted to be changed quite often. Does my life look like I thought back then? No yet I would not make changes to my lifes path, even if I could. I am reasonably happy and content with the way my life has evolved, and accept that what I have today may be different from a few years from now.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/daily-prompt-sweet-sixteen/

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

  1. All a person needs is to be happy with life

  2. I wanted to be the first female Prime Minister of Canada! Am I sad that I’m not? No way!

  3. What an incredibly ambitious 16 year old, whether you fully applied yourself or not. Impressive…

  4. When I was 16 I didn’t think about my future. Like ever I knew I was going to college but only to play basketball. I mostly was trying to get through my parents household and making others happy with my hard work! It was not looking ahead but i wish it had been.

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations. Because Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav Yoga and Thai Massage

Practices for Health & Happiness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

