A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

I am a fairly confidant person, so helpless doesn’t really apply to me. My parents taught me to approach problems, by breaking them down into smaller pieces, nd eventually problem solved or managed. That said, talking to a teenage daughter, when she is starting to become a woman, well that one where I decided I wasn’t the one to talk to about it. Nope for me that is one for the women to discuss, and I’ll even go have coffee to let them have privacy.  I will however offer support, understanding and be as compassionate as possible. So if any of you ladies want to tell me that’s out dated, old-fashioned etc, I’ll just say I’ll work on that part of enlightenment , in my next life.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/daily-prompt-helpless/

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Helpless

  1. The great thing about old-fashion is that it is usually morally just. I not only had that talk with our daughters, I had a similar one with our boys. The husband believed that boys just know these things.

    • If I had a son, I would have definetly had the same talk with him as my dad did with me. Mom also gave me the talk, but dads covered a few things she missed, perhaps due to personal experiences.

  2. Pingback: The Daily Post – Helplessness « Linda Long Writes!

  3. Darling I must admit I feel helpless at least once every day. SOMEHOW I bring my self out of it! I have been TRYING to let go of the reins where our daughter is concerned. When she drops them I pick them up for her and wait till she’s all I KNOW I CAN DOOOO IT MY SELF!!! Give them back to her so she can mess em up again safely!!! I know I will have to let go totally but it’s so hard for me to think about that day! I just want to enjoy this. I have NO advice for you!! Some parents are cool with kicking there kids out of the nest. I don’t want my children to leave LIKE EVER so. That’s my only advise. Let her live forever!!!

    • My daughter is now 27 and very independant, and capable of living her own life. However when she was still a child/teenager I think it’s dads job to keep the poachers and other varmints outside the fence. :P

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Helpless | My Journey to Find Me

  5. Pingback: TRAPPED INSIDE « hastywords

  6. haha! daughters have a way of throwing dads for a loop huh?

  7. Pingback: My Own Personal Grave Digger (Daily Prompt) « Dibbler Dabbler

Leave a Reply

Kindness Blog

Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

benbrilliant

Just another WordPress.com site

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Hannah Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav

Jeanette Sealy Yoga

moodsnmoments

where some moods and certain moments last a lifetime!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

