A Western Buddhist's Travels

Sightseeing & detours on the path of enlightenment

Daily Prompt: Hate to Love

Tell us about a guilty pleasure that you hate to love.

The daily prompt is a daily challenge, for me. Over a decade or so ago I would have had to choose from a small list. These days I have indulgences that I try not to overdo, but no guilty pleasures. You won’t find me eating tiramisu, with the blinds closed, unless it’s that time of the day when they should be closed. You won’t find me sneaking out to Starbucks, at 2am for a triple shot espresso, unless I’m heading to the airport to catch an early flight, and being awake long enough to make it onto the plane is required.

220px-Carnegie_Deli_Strawberry_Cheesecake

So instead I’ll tell you about my indulgences, after all it’s not like someone in the world hasn’t seen me buy these items. Besides most of my friends know about them, so no state secrets here. First of all, I love cheesecake with blueberries or cherries on top. This has been a life long indulgence, luckily I haven’t repeated what I did as a teenager. One Saturday morning, I had things to do around the house, so I didn’t go shopping with my parents, deciding to clean up my to do list. Mom had just made a 8″x8″ New York style cheesecake with cherries on top, and it was in the dining room. She said to have some if I felt peckish, which to a growing teenage boy is a constant occurence. My parents got home about 1pm and dad decided to have some cheesecake for dessert as they had stopped for lunch on the way home. He went into the dining room, then called out to my mom, where’s the cheesecake again? She replied in the dining room, as I entered the kitchen from the hallway, to ask what there was I could make lunch with. As I finished saying this dad entered the kitchen, holding the cheesecake, well more accurately the pan with a few graham wafer crumbs left at the bottom. Mom looked at the pan, looked at me, then looked at dad, who had started to laugh at that point. Mom said something along the lines, of I can’t believe you ate the whole thing, to which dad added, I can’t believe your still hungry. I tried to explain my way out of, it by saying I had just munched as I was doing stuff, which caused my dad to shake his head and say I’m glad I’m a chef who can get food at wholesale prices or you would eat us out of house and home.

My other indulgence is to go out once a month for tiramisu and a fancy coffee with friends, or to a place in Vancouver that makes the best fresh cinnamon buns in the world. I’ll give you a hint, it’s on 4th avenue west, the exact location is up to you to find. Afterall you must really want to try these cinnamon buns enough, that you will make a little effort.

For more interesting revelations click here.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Hate to Love

  1. You my darling have made me VERY hungry. My list is sufficiently LONGER!!! That place you all go to in Vancouver sounds wonderful!

  2. Cinnamon buns. Who can stop at 1?

  3. Pingback: CHASING FRIENDSHIPS « hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Guilty Pleasures I Hate To Love | My Blog

  5. Next time I’m in Vancouver, I’m going on a hunt for the best cinnamon buns in the world. I have it on good authority I can find them on 4th avenue west.

  6. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

Urban Studies

An online community of SFU Urban Studies students, alumni, and friends!

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations. Because Kindness Changes Everything.

Sa-wat-dii From Thailand

Thoughts on the Peace Corps and Thailand

NorthThailand Blog

North Thailand photos and Travel destination information

Buddhist Art News

News on Buddhist art, architecture, archaeology, music, dance, and academia.

Nomadic Megan

Travel Blogger, Freelance Writer, TESOL Teacher & Professional Vagabond.

roselovesthailand

Just another WordPress.com site

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

benbrilliant

Just another WordPress.com site

Untangling the Tangles

Teja's blog on Everything that Concerns US

words of wisdom

words of wisdon, where we share our thoughts.

Vincent Desrus's Blog

Blog created to make people think about the world around them

Stories That Are All True

...and some of them actually happened.

Dish With Clarissa

The incredible world of food from seedlings to your plate, and everything in between.

The Horror Online

Horror With Humour

Edmonton Journal

Edmonton Journal Blogs

IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed

An artist's work in progress: Metaphysics Applied in Real Time

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Schelley Cassidy Photography | What Is It?!?

Home of What Is It?!? - A Project in Perspective

MDCPhotographs

Smile and sigh with me if you like what you see.

Sterry

Musician, cartoonist and photographer based in Devon.

most good least harm

Living compassionately, spending less and appreciating life.

The Heart of Awakening

Searching for the New Paradigm

Metta Bhav Yoga and Thai Massage

Practices for Health & Happiness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

